VIDEO : 8 psychological stages of lockdown explained

CAPE TOWN- Psychologist Cheryl Sol explains there are 8 psychological stages that South Africans may be experiencing during lockdown.

Sol has based these stages on the model of grief, as many may have lost their freedom of movement, lost their jobs or they may have experienced the loss of a loved one.

“Whenever there is a huge change like we’ve had with the global pandemic of Coronavirus, that change involves loss. So it becomes really important to stay conscious of where you are, how you’re feeling, how you’re coping. And in the future once things have settled down, we shouldn’t forget the things we might have learnt during this time,” she said.

Sol says that the stage model provides a useful framework to understanding how people handle the lockdown. Everyone has a different experience, some may experiences all of the stages, or go through them in a different order.

Below is the lockdown stage model:

  1. Shock
  2. Denial
  3. Anger
  4. Bargaining
  5. Depression
  6. Acceptance
  7. Making meaning
  8. Rebuilding


For LIVE updates on the Coronavirus pandemic, follow us on Twitter : @sacoronamonitor



About Post Author